Colorado Tightens Covid Restrictions

Colorado will impose tighter restrictions on 15 counties, including Denver and much of the metro area, by the end of the week in the state’s latest effort to curb the accelerating transmission of Covid-19 without ordering a lockdown.   

The new public health restrictions in those counties encourage, but do not order, people to stay at home, while prohibiting all personal gatherings outside of an individual’s household, barring indoor dining at restaurants and moving last call for alcohol to 8 pm.   

The tighter restrictions will be in effect beginning Friday in Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Jefferson, La Plata, Logan, Mesa, Morgan, Routt, Summit and Washington.   

In addition, Custer, Lake, Costilla, Montezuma, Pitkin and San Juan Counties are moving to Level Orange on Friday, while Las Animas and Gunnison counties will move to Level Yellow.     

Governor Jared Polis announced yesterday that he will call the Colorado Legislature into a special session to focus on Covid relief.   

Legislators say they have about $200 million to use to help businesses and families.   

Governor Polis said he would like to focus on a small business relief package for restaurants and bars, housing and rental assistance, support for child-care providers, and expanding broadband access for online learning.   

Legislators are working to finalize details on when the special session will be held.   

Dan R