Salida Hospital District Board Election Results

More than 1,300 votes were cast in the May 3 election for seats on the Salida Hospital District Board of Directors. 

Results have been certified via the Chaffee County Canvass Board, and William Alderton, Dean Edwards and Lydia Segal were elected for three-year terms, and Susan Dunn was elected for a one-year term.

Eligible voters in the Salida Hospital District cast their ballots from 7 a.m. through 7 p.m. at two polling locations in the county, located at the main hospital in Salida and at the County Annex building in Buena Vista. Absentee ballots were also counted.

The final number of votes cast for each candidate were: Lydia Segal, 339; Dean Edwards, 335; Bill Alderton, 243; and Rick Carroll, 128. Susan Dunn, who ran unopposed for the one-year term, received 310 votes.

Current board member Jeff Post will remain on the board through his second term, which completes in 2023. Current board chairman Debbie Farrell, and board members Tom Eve and Harry Payton will be vacating the board as they have reached their term limits.

Each newly-elected candidate will be sworn in at the May 17 HRRMC Board of Directors meeting. The Canvass Board’s Certificate of Determination can be found by visiting and viewing the board of directors election page.

Dan R